Skip to content

Escape from Zoo Island – Development Posts

2023-09-04

The game was made in a week in April of 2022, in a game jam with the theme: Relation. While making the game I posted in the game jam discord. This is a summary of the updates:

Christoffer L03/28/2022 11:37 PM

I’m making a mini metroidvania where each upgrade change how you interact with other creatures in the world.
I might need level design / pixel art later on, but I will try to make a working prototype before, to see that the idea works.

Christoffer L03/30/2022 1:24 AM

I wrote a number of ideas and here’s a reduced list which I think is doable in the jam. the sequence of items is still open, I think that will be decided later with the level design. I will use place holder art to begin with and start making the player movement, upgrades and enemies. And place them in a small map, where you need some upgrades to get the other

Christoffer L03/30/2022 3:27 PM

I have done some tests for the animals, here’s a few gifs of that:

Christoffer L03/31/2022 2:45 PM

some progress from yesterday. the arcing ability will be the first upgrade and the bouncing on enemies the second. Right now if you get damaged you drop coins, but you can’t die, I haven’t decided if you should be able to die or not.

next step is to add some more unlocks and goals, and then trying to put everything into one simple test level

Christoffer L04/01/2022 4:45 PM

Here’s a door that opens and how to feed animals with the zoo snacks cannon

and a current version of the game. It’s a list of small scenes, the gifs that’s in this tread https://etclundberg.itch.io/escape-from-zoo-island?password=zoo

Christoffer L04/03/2022 1:21 AM

I put together a map for the general room location and item unlock sequence. Although I’m not sure if I will be able to implement it before the jam ends

Christoffer L04/03/2022 6:23 PM

I added the reset of the sound effects, music, and tweaked a bunch of level design details. Also removed crocodiles and put a birds in the spark boots area, and fixed a bug where monkeys would run away from the level or you couldn’t jump on them after they got happy 🤣 https://etclundberg.itch.io/escape-from-zoo-island

Christoffer L04/03/2022 8:21 PM

here’s a gameplay video https://youtu.be/TsIZ_ATIh_E

Twitch live stream of all the games 04/04/2022

there’s a time stamp for Escape from Zoo Island at 1:00:01

From → All

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment